Most Viewed Posts


At the February 13, 2019 board meeting, the Greater Lafourche Port Commission (GLPC) board elected its officers. The board elected Harris “Chuckie” Cheramie, Jr. as President, Rodney Gisclair as Vice President, Perry Gisclair as Secretary, and John Melancon, Jr. as Treasurer.
New Port Commission President Harris “Chuckie” Cheramie said, “I appreciate the confidence that my fellow commissioners have in my ability to represent Port Fourchon and the South Lafourche Airport. I look forward to the opportunity to serve as board president and continue to guide our port and airport in a positive direction along with my fellow commissioners.”
The Port Commission are elected for six-year terms by the citizens of the 10th ward of Lafourche Parish. The executive board’s officers are nominated and elected by the board of commissioners every three years.
The board, which has jurisdiction over Port Fourchon and the South Lafourche Airport, is the only elected port commission in the state. •

    Leave Your Comment

    Forgot Password